Who are the Winter Games Cheerleaders?

In the true spirit of community fun and recognition, the University of Okoboji Winter Games Committee gives the public the opportunity to nominate men and women to serve as the Winter Games cheerleaders each year. The eight chosen cheerleaders will cheer, cheer, cheer for Boji at the various events throughout the 44th Annual Winter Games on January 25-28, 2024.

How does one become a cheerleader?

Individuals must be nominated in order to be considered as a potential cheerleader. Nominees must be a Dickinson County resident or employed in Dickinson County and at least 18 years of age.

The nominee should exhibit:

  • a ready smile, generous heart, and good nature
  • an enthusiasm for all that our U of O campus has to offer
  • a sincere desire to give their time and talent to enhance the quality of life in the Iowa Great Lakes Area

Nominations are open December 1st - 31st. 

How does voting work?

Each individual will select a maximum of 8 individuals listed on the final ballot of nominees. The eight nominees with the most votes will be announced following voting.

Voting will be available online and in person from 9am - 5pm on Wednesday, January 3rd and Thursday, January 4th. In person voting will be available at the Iowa Great Lakes Area Chamber of Commerce located in Arnolds Park at 565 S Hwy 71. Online voting will be limited to one vote per email. The 8 individuals with the most votes will be contacted and announced on Friday, January 5th.

Who were the past cheerleaders?